top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKimberly Turman

If a girl eats 100 Days of Real Foods...

Updated: Feb 2, 2019

...she'll start thinking about what she eat. If she thinks about what she eats, then she'll think about what she wears and what she puts on her face and what she's doing to the environment.


My journey to making better choices really started back in 2013 when I stumbled on the for blog 100 Days of Real Foods. I was challenged to start looking at labels and think about nutrition in a new way. I was no longer choosing convenience foods that were low in calories. I started reading labels and choosing foods that were nutrient dense, low in sugar and mostly unprocessed.


Once Tiny Ninja No. 1 came along, eating organic became even more important. But that had a waterfall effect. I was making better choices at the grocery store, but what about when we ate out? Shopping local mattered, more than it had before. I felt better about supporting local businesses and keeping money in my community, and I became more aware of the environmental impact of shopping local. But Target.


I also became more aware of my skincare and my makeup. I wanted to avoid chemicals fragrances too, but did that mean that I should throw everything out and just start over? And what about where our clothes were coming from?


So that's where my idea for The Eighty Twenty was born. I wanted to make better choices, so I decided to make them one choice at a time. I didn't replace all of the products in my house, but I'm conscientious about everything that I buy. And I'll be real. I may not always make the 'best' choice. (That's the 20. Moderation.) I think Chick-fil-A is God's gift to Americans and I could probably eat it for every meal. I'm basic. I love Target. Amazon makes a delivery almost daily to my house. And as much as I'd love to grow all my own food or co-op with friends, I have that messy life that runs a lot smoother when I take advantage of convenience.





25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page